top of page

Product Review : Curl Enhancing Smoothie

Shea Moisture’s Curl enhancing smoothie is a cream used to moisturize and style curly hair; it is a part of Shea Moisture’s coconut and Hibiscus range.Note; This article is not sponsored by Shea Moisture.

.

Ingredients;

The main ingredients listed are Coconut oil, De-ionized water, Avocado seed oil, Hibiscus flower extract and Shea Butte (among others). Like many Shea moisture products I’ve tried it contains no Sulfates, Parabens, Propylene Glycol & mineral oil (other black listed ingredients are also excluded) I bought mine from Beauty Studio Ke using their pre-order option.

Packaging & Appearance;

It’s packed in a round plastic container that contains 12 oz. / 340 grams of product. Its pretty. damn. thick, like pudding thick, and it smells really really good!

Most people use it for braid /twist outs as well as for wash and go’s., I have tried it out for both and I was pretty impressed, I used about a quarter sized amount (slightly less than a teaspoon full) on either side of my head. Like I mentioned earlier, it’s pretty thick so a little goes a long way.

Review;

I have kinky/curly hair so I was curious to see if it really would manage to define my otherwise fleeting curls. It did actually, to a certain extent. On a scale of 1 -5 for definition of type 4 hair, I’d give it 3.However if you do have type 3 hair, it seems to do a really good job based on the reviews I’ve seen.

The product’s labeling claims it adds moisture and shine and that is definitely true, my braided out hair was still shiny on day 7! It also claims to be anti-frizz and that is also true provided you detangle your hair properly.

Overall I’m impressed; it definitely lived up to the hype. It’s also a lot better than the raw Shea butter I used before. My only critique would be once again, the thickness. If your heavy handed with hair products you would definitely end up weighing down your hair, however, with a little measuring you should be fine.

It was honestly quite hard to find something I didn’t like about this product, therefore I’ll give it a 5/5 (cue cheering sound effect) I would definitely recommend this to anyone with type 3 hair as a stand-alone product for curl definition, I would also recommend it to anyone with type 4 hair, but for super defined curls and coils I’d suggest pairing it with an alcohol free gel.

That’s all for now! Thank you for checking out this post

xo- Alex

SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
  • Instagram - Black Circle
ARCHIVE
bottom of page